Com­puter Sci­ence News

For achieve­ments in the field of the­or­et­ic­al com­puter sci­ence: Prof Dr Fried­helm Mey­er auf der Heide ap­poin­ted EACTS Fel­low 2024

 |  EIM-NachrichtenCS-Nachrichten

The European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) has named Prof. Dr Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, retired Professor of Computer Science at the Heinz Nixdorf Institute and the Department of Computer Science at Paderborn University, as a 2024 EATCS Fellow in recognition of his "influential contributions to algorithmic and complexity theory problems in parallel computing, communication and data management in networks, network dynamics, algorithms in computer graphics and probabilistic analysis".

The EATCS is a non-profit organisation founded in 1972. Its aim is to facilitate the exchange of ideas and results within theoretical computer science and to promote international co-operation between theoretical and practical computer science. Since 2014, the EATCS Fellow Programme has honoured outstanding EATCS members for their scientific achievements in the field of theoretical computer science.

Meyer auf der Heide was Professor of Computer Science at the Heinz Nixdorf Institute and the Institute of Computer Science at Paderborn University from 1989 to 2023, where he headed the "Algorithms and Complexity" department. He is a member of the Heinz Nixdorf Institute's Board of Directors and was a member of Paderborn University's University Council from 2007 to 2023. As spokesperson, he headed the Collaborative Research Centres "Massive Parallelism" (1995-2006) and "On-The-Fly Computing" (2011-2023). Meyer auf der Heide has also been admitted to the Leopoldina - the German National Academy of Sciences, the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts and acatech - the Academy of Science and Engineering.

This text has been translated automatically.

Photo (Heinz Nixdorf Institute): Prof Dr Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide.